Some comfort food for the soul.

by Homeward Bound and Messing Around

Last night was Halloween, and for the first time in my life, I did not have a costume. Life has been busy, I’ve been preoccupied with other things, and I realized another new endeavor in home ownership- like it or not, kids are going to come to your door expecting candy. Being that we are the new people on the block, and the fact that we are always working on cars in the driveway, I did not want us to be the new asshole neighbors that did not have any treats. 

So, we stayed home and gave out candy. It was surprisingly relaxing. Halloween is apparently a lot less hectic when you are not downing shots. Either way, I wanted to make a dinner last night that made me think of fall. Texas is finally cooling down, and the holidays always make me crave comfort food. Since the husband expressed a desire for some Polish food, only one thing came to mind- my mom’s delicious mushroom and dill pork.Image

Ever since I was a kid, this was my ultimate comfort food. Warm, filling, and beautifully satisfying, it is also a cinch to make. Bingo! I will post my recipe for this, but keep in mind that the beauty of this dish is the lack of need for exact measurements- everything can be done to taste, and it is virtually impossible to mess this up!

Ingredients:

  • 1-1.5lbs pork loin, thinly sliced into bite size pieces.
  • Half an onion, sliced paper thin
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • One package mushrooms, sliced (I prefer white button mushrooms, as they don’t overwhelm the pork)
  • One cup sour cream
  • Freshly chopped dill, to taste
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • Flour to thicken the sauce
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. On a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil and sprayed with cooking spray, spread out pork pieces in a single layer. Cover with onions, sprinkle with garlic, salt, and pepper. Bake for approximately 12 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, saute sliced mushrooms in olive oil until tender. 
  3. When meat is thoroughly baked, add the meat and onion mixture to the pan, stirring in with the mushrooms on low heat. There should be liquid in the cookie sheet from the pork and onions, be sure to include that as it is the basis for the sauce.
  4. Allow the mixture to simmer together for a few minutes to allow the flavors to join, adding sour cream, dill, and salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Here, you can play it by ear. I generally add about 3 teaspoons of flour to thicken the sauce, stirring the whole time. Depending on how much liquid is in the pan, you may need more or less. I also get creative with spices sometimes- sometimes I add a dash of paprika, sometimes a dash of garlic power- sometimes I leave it as is. That is the beauty of this dish, it is simply but very easy to customize to your mood.

And that is it! Really. It’s that simple. As you can see, I generally serve this with mashed potatoes (your favorite recipe will work!) with a bit of chopped dill thrown in. But that’s how I grew up eating it, and wouldn’t be able to pass up the opportunity to soak up the sauce with some potatoes. However, I could see this dish working well over a bed of rice, or even with a simple side of salad to keep things light. Smacznego 🙂

